Flower Classifications, Size & Height

Chrysanthemum Classification System
We use the National Chrysanthemum Society’s classification system for our plants. Each plant on the website has a date range for when the plants can be expected to bloom. After this there is a number, letter and the height range. The number and letter designate the flower class and flower size.

Source: National Chrysanthemum Website:  www.mums.org/chrysanthemum-classes/

Example: Bola de Oro 1A Medium
1 – Designation for Class 1 Irregular Incurve
A – Designation for Large size bloom
Medium – Designation for Medium height

Class 1 – Irregular Incurve
Class 2 – Reflex
Class 3 – Incurve
Class 4 – Decorative
Class 5 – Intermediate Incurve
Class 6 – Pompon
Class 7 – Single & Semi-Double
Class 8 – Anemone
Class 9 – Spoon
Class 10 – Quill
Class 11 – Spider
Class 12 – Brush & Thistle
Class 13 – Unclassified (Exotic)

Flower Class Descriptions

Class 1 Irregular Incurve:  These are the giant blooms of the chrysanthemum genus.  The florets (petals) loosely incurve and make fully closed centers. The lower florets present an irregular appearance and may give a skirted effect.  

Class 2 Reflex:  The florets in this class curve downward and overlap, similar to bird plumage. The tops of these blooms are full, but somewhat flattened. 

Class 3 Regular Incurve:  A true globular bloom equal in breadth and depth. The florets smoothly incurve and form a ball. 

Class 4 Decorative:  A flattened bloom with short petals.  As in classes 1-3 the center disk should not be visible. The upper florets tend to incurve, but the lower petals generally reflex. 

Class 5 Intermediate Incurve:  This bloom class is smaller than the irregular incurve, with shorter florets, only partially incurving with full centers, but giving a more open appearance.  Many of the popular commercial incurving types are in this intermediate class. 

Class 6 Pompon:  A small globular bloom, somewhat flat when young but fully round when mature.  Size ranges from small button types to large disbudded blooms almost 4 inches in diameter.  The florets incurve or reflex in a regular manner and fully conceal the center.

Class 7 Single and Semi-Double:  A daisy-like flower with a center disk and one or more rows of ray florets. 

Class 8 Anemone:  These blooms are similar to the semi-doubles, but have a raised cushion-like center. 

Class 9 Spoon:  Essentially the same as the semi-double, except the ray florets are like spoons at the tips. The center disk is round and visible. 

Class 10 Quill:  The florets in this Class are straight and tubular with open tips. The bloom is fully double with no open center. 

Class 11 Spider:  Spiders have long tubular ray florets which may coil or hook at the ends. The florets may be very fine to coarse. 

Class 12 Brush or Thistle:  Fine tubular florets which grow parallel to the stem and resemble an artist’s paint brushes or in the thistle form the florets are flattened, twisted and dropping. 

Class 13 Unclassified or Exotic:  Those blooms which fit in none of the other classes. They are often exotic, with twisted florets. They may also exhibit characteristics of more than one bloom class. 

Flower Size Designations
AA – The largest Class 1 and 2 blooms reaching up to 8″ in size. These cultivars prefer a long, cool growing season and may require protection from frost or freeze. In regions with warm growing seasons these cultivars seldom reach their maximum size and may develop open centers. They should be grown as disbuds.

A – Large blooms reaching 6 to 8 inches in size. These cultivars should be grown as disbuds.

B – Medium sized blooms reaching 4 – 6 inches. These cultivars can be grown as disbuds or sprays. Classes 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12 cascades, garden and gnome types should be grown as sprays unless designated as size A bloom.

C – Small blooms reaching 1 – 4 inches. These cultivars should always be grown as sprays. They can often be trained into other forms such as, trees, cascades, baskets and bonsai or grown as potted plants.

Please note that the size designations are not consistent between classes because of the wide differences in the flower sizes for different classes of Chrysanthemums. For example: a 4″ Class 1 – Irregular Incurve is a size B flower size designation where a 4″ Class 8 – Anemone is a size A flower size designation.

Short: 1 – 2.5 feet
Medium: 2.5 – 4 feet
Tall: 4+ feet

Please note that the height is the maximum potential for the plants and can be controlled or manipulated by pinching or cutting back the plants. Grower skill and the weather in your region can also greatly affect the height of the plant.